Germany Travel Restrictions: 7 More Third-Countries Added to List of High-Risk Areas, Including Japan

The residents of seven more third countries will face additional entry restrictions when attempting to enter Germany after the German Robert Koch Institute has added these countries to its list of high-risk areas regarding the Coronavirus pandemic.

On Friday, August 3, the RKI – which is an agency subordinate to the Federal Ministry of Health, responsible for disease control and prevention – has published the new list of countries and territories considered high-risk areas by the German authorities, including the following in this list:

  • Albania
  • Azerbaijan
  • Guatemala
  • Japan
  • The Palestinian Territories
  • Serbia
  • Sri Lanka

The list of high-risk areas was expanded with these countries, after all of them marked increasing COVID-19 number within the last weeks. Data by World Health Organization shows that in the last 24 hours, 17,456 cases have been detected in Japan alone, which is home to a population of 126.3 million.

The decision, which will become effective on Sunday, September 5, means that all visitors from these countries who are eligible to enter Germany, who are aged 12 and older, are obliged to present vaccination certificates, or test results, upon entry. They are also obliged to register at before arriving in Germany and carry proof of registration with them when reaching the country.

“In addition, when entering the Federal Republic of Germany after a stay in a foreign high-risk area or virus variant area, special registration, proof and quarantine requirements must be observed,” the RKI notes in its most recent update of the high-risk areas.

At the same time, it calls attention to the fact that due to the frequently changing situation in regards to the Coronavirus pandemic, “it may be necessary to designate new high-risk areas and virus variant areas at very short notice.”

Last week, on August 24, RKI had added the Greek islands of Crete and Tinos to the high-risk list. Throughout last month, other countries as Thailand, North Macedonia, Morocco and Montenegro have also become part of this list.

Currently, non-vaccinated travellers can enter only from the following third countries: Armenia, Australia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Hong Kong, Jordan, Macao, Moldova, New Zealand, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, and Ukraine.

However, even travellers from high-risk areas are permitted to enter Germany if they are fully vaccinated with one of the vaccines accepted by the German authorities as valid proof of immunity.

Germany currently is among the EU countries with the highest rates of COVID-19, alongside Spain, France, Portugal, Greece, Ireland, Lithuania and Latvia. Data by World Health Organization shows that Germany has reported 84.8 new cases per day within the last seven days per 100,000 residents, while France 143.85, Spain 80.63, and Portugal 135.01.

In the last 24 hours, on the other hand, Germany has recorded 14,251 new cases, bringing the total number of cases recorded since the beginning of the pandemic to 3,984,353.

Article Source

About the Mediterranean Observer

The Mediterranean Observer is a news portal dedicated to travel tourism, and hospitality in the Mediterranean region. This portal is managed by the Mediterranean Tourism Foundation, based in the Mediterranean country of Malta.